Sea of ​​Cortez

UNESCO World Marine Heritage


The islands and protected areas of the Sea of ​​Cortez were inscribed on the World Heritage List in 2005. This site is made up of 9 protected areas, 244 islands, islets and coastal areas. This corner is of utmost importance, it has been recognized as a natural laboratory for the investigation of species. Most of the oceanographic processes that occur on the planet take place here.

The site is a unique place, of surprising natural beauty and in a spectacular environment formed by steep islands with high cliffs and sandy beaches, which contrast with the brilliant reflection of the desert and the turquoise waters that surround it.

This wonderful place was named “The Aquarium of the World” by Jacques Cousteau, it is home to 695 species of vascular plants, more than in any insular property of the World Marine Heritage List. It has 891 species of fish and 90 of them are endemic. Furthermore, it contains 39% of the world total of marine mammal species and a third of the world’s marine cetacean species.

Each of us must be aware of adopting a responsible behavior to take care of the wealth of the Sea of ​​Cortez, one of the most spectacular marine areas on the planet.

Issue 16


Boletín de noticias

Enter your email address

Get our news directly in your inbox

Leave a Reply

WhatsApp chat