The Sea of Cortez

a UNESCO Marine World Heritage Site.

The World Heritage register currently includes 46 sites recognized for their exceptional marine value. These sites are renowned for their exceptional natural phenomena, geological processes, functioning ecology and their exceptional biodiversity not found in any other part of the planet.


The islands and protected area of the Sea of Cortez were included on the World Heritage list in 2005. The site is composed of nine protected areas, 244 islands, islets and coastal areas. This corner of the world is very important and has been recognized as a natural laboratory for the examination of different species. Most oceanographic processes occurring in the world are present here. The site is a unique place of striking natural beauty in a dramatic setting formed by rugged islands with high cliffs and sandy beaches which contrast with the brilliant reflection from the desert on the surroundings turquoise waters.


Jacques Cousteau called this wonderful place 鈥淭he Aquarium of the World鈥 as it is home to 695 species of aquatic plants, more than any property on the list of Marine World Heritage sites.

The site also contains 891 species of fish, 90 of which are endemic. In addition, 39 percent the world鈥檚 marine mammals and a third of the world鈥檚 marine cetacean species are found in this area.

To preserve the richness of the Sea of Cortez, it is necessary to make visitors and service providers aware that they are visiting or working in one of the most spectacular marine areas in the world. They should appreciate the significance of the universal value of this World Heritage site and adopt a responsible behavior.

Related articles

Breakfast for moms at Hospiten: Today, the hug is for them.

The mothers were arriving at the annual Hospiten breakfast...

MICHELIN 2024 Stars and Recommendations in Los Cabos

The renowned MICHELIN Guide began in 1900 when brothers...

1st Land & Building Golf Tournament

Vicente Azuero, Juan Carlos Ugarte, Felipe Arechiga, and Frank...

The 7th edition of Paellas 2024 in Los Cabos is coming up!

Yesterday, the press conference of the 7th edition of...
Edici贸n 42 - Reuniones en Los Cabos
Edici贸n 42 - Reuniones en Los Cabos
En esta edici贸n nos enfocamos en resaltar los atractivos naturales e historia de la pen铆nsula. Estamos convencidos de que esta informaci贸n los conectar谩 con la magia que cautiv贸 a los primeros pobladores y que ha fascinado por a帽os a todos sus visitantes.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here